PG FIREARMS TRAINING

Are You Ready?

FAQ

Personal Defense Training

Training locations

Cost

Concealed Weapon Permits

  1. Do I qualify for a concealed weapon permit?

    Colorado is a “Shall Issue” state. The sheriff must issue the permit unless you do not meet the following basic requirements.

     

     

    •Colorado Resident

     

    •Age 21 or older

     

    •Not precluded by law from owning or possessing a firearm ( e.g. felony conviction, mentally incompetent)

     

    •Does not chronically or habitually abuse alcohol

     

    •Is not an unlawful user of or addicted to controlled substances

     

    •Is not the subject of a civil or criminal restraining order

     

    •Complete background check including fingerprint verification by FBI / CBI

     

    •Demonstrates competence with handgun ( i.e. my class )

  2. Where do I apply for my CCW permit?

    Below is the locations of the county sheriffs offices where you submit your CCW applications.  Depending on which county you reside in is where you turn in your application.

    Adams County

    332 N. 19th Ave., Brighton, CO 80601

    Ph 303.655.3242

    http://www.adamscounty.org/sheriff/index.htm

    Arapahoe County

    13101 E. Broncos Pkwy., Centennial, CO 80112

    Ph720.874.3895

    http://www.co.arapahoe.co.us

    Boulder County

    1777 6th St. (2nd floor, records counter), Boulder, CO 80302

    Ph 303.441.3994

    http://www.bouldercounty.org/government/offices/pages/sheriff.aspx

    Denver County

    1331 Cherokee, Denver, CO 80204

    Ph 720.913.6836

    http://www.denvergov.org/police/template39129.asp

    Douglas County

    4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109

    Ph 303.660.7505

    http://www.dcsheriff.net

    Gilpin County

    22960 Dory Hill Rd., Suite , Golden, CO 80403

    303.582.1060

    http://www.co.gilpin.co.us/Jefferson

    Jefferson County

    200 Jefferson County Pkwy., Golden, CO 80401

    Ph 303.271.5304

    http://jeffco.us/sheriff/index.htm

    Larimer County

    2501 Midpoint Dr., Ft. Collins, CO 80525

    Ph 970.498.5157

    http://www.co.larimer.co.us/sheriff/

    Morgan County

    801 E. Beaver Ave., Ft. Morgan, CO 80701

    Ph 970.542.3445

    http://morgansheriff.net/main/

    Park County

    1180 CR-16 / Fairplay, CO 80440

    Ph 719.836.2494

    http://www.parkco.us/index.aspx?nid=88

    Weld County

    1950 O St. , Greeley, CO 80631

    Ph 970.356.4015 x 2865

    http://www.weldsheriff.com

  3. Cost of a CCW permit?

    The sheriff by law can charge no more than $100 for the permit. The fee for the background check as of January 1 2010 is $ 52.50 (this may change without notice)

  4. Will my CCW permit be valid in other states other than Colorado?

    It should be valid in any state with which Colorado recognizes reciprocity. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation carries a list of states that recognize Colorado permits on its website. Be very careful when carrying concealed in other states-check the law BEFORE you enter the new jurisdiction. (Repricocity Map)

    *****************C.B.I. INFORMATION PROVIDED************************

    Reciprocity

    Last updated 10/20/2009

     

     STATE PERMIT VALID IN COLORADO

     

    ALABAMA YES

    ALASKA YES

    ARIZONA YES

    ARKANSAS YES

    CALIFORNIA NO

    CONNECTICUT NO

    DELAWARE YES

    DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA NO

    FLORIDA YES

    GEORGIA YES

    HAWAII NO

    IDAHO YES

    ILLINOIS NO

    INDIANA YES

    IOWA NO

    KANSAS YES

    KENTUCKY YES

    LOUISIANA YES

    MAINE NO

    MARYLAND NO

    MASSACHUSETTS NO

    MICHIGAN YES

    MINNESOTA NO

    MISSISSIPPI YES

    MISSOURI YES

     

    *No permit required in State of Vermont to carry a concealed handgun.

     STATE PERMIT VALID IN COLORADO

    MONTANA YES

    NEBRASKA YES

    NEVADA NO

    NEW HAMPSHIRE YES

    NEW JERSEY NO

    NEW MEXICO YES

    NEW YORK NO

    NORTH CAROLINA YES

    NORTH DAKOTA YES

    OHIO NO

    OKLAHOMA YES

    OREGON NO

    PENNSYLVANIA YES

    RHODE ISLAND NO

    SOUTH CAROLINA NO

    SOUTH DAKOTA YES

    TENNESSEE YES

    TEXAS YES

    UTAH YES

    VERMONT* NO

    VIRGINIA NO

    WASHINGTON NO

    WEST VIRGINIA NO

    WISCONSIN NO

    WYOMING YES

     

     

     

  5. Will I get a certificate after completion of the CCW course?

    Yes, after my CCW course, and passing the written exam, I will issue a certificate of completion.  With my training certificate you can apply for a CCW permit in the county that you reside in. 

  6. I'am active military, Do I need to take a class to obtain my CCW?

    No. If you are active military in any US armed forces, you do not need to take a firearm class to obtain your concealed weapon permit.  However, each state varies from state to state on concealed carrying laws.  I recommend for you to contact me to be informed in your state laws on carrying concealed.  

  7. I was employed or retired as a police officer, do I need to take a concealed weapon class?

    It depends on how many years of service you had in your law enforcement agency.  It also depends, if you were a fully commissioned police officer in the state of Colorado. 

     

    Applicants who have 15 cumulative years experience as a commissioned peace officer can apply for a Retired Law Enforcement Officer Permit.

    Retired officers can submit applications between Successful applicants must submit the following:

     

    > Completed Retired Peace Officer Application

    > Range Qualification Form

    > Application Fee

    > Driver's License or State-Issued Identification

     

    Contact me for further information or clarification......  I'd be more than happy to help you with this process.

Back to top

Basic Pistol Course

  1. How long is the Basic Pistol Course?

    The Basic Pistol Course is 4 hours long.  This is a very basic firearms course to build the needed skills in the student to feel confident and prepared to use a firearm.   

  2. Does this course allow me to apply for a Colorado CCW permit?

    No, since I dont issue certificates after this course this course would not allow you to apply for the CO permit.  I dont go over the Colorado laws on conceal carry with this course this is a HANDS on shooting course with no classroon.  Thats the reason why I dont issue a certificate for a CO permit.  It's CRUCIAL to know the laws of Colorado  before applying for a permit.

  3. What will I learn from the Basic Pistol Course?

    You will learn how to properly and safely use a firearm.  You will learn the basic stances, grips, marksmanship, and reloading of a firearm.  We go over some fun shooting drills to get the student comfortable and ready to use their firearms safely. 

  4. Can I rent a gun from you if I dont have one?

    Yes, if you dont have a firearm we can rent your a pistol for $25.  We have a Glock 17 9mm and a Glock 19 9mm for rent.  The rental will include 3 magazines and a holster for the class.

    The reason we charge for gun rental is due to our time for cleaning the weapon and replacing worn parts as needed. 

Back to top

Personal Defense Training

  1. How long is this class?

    Depending on what each student wants to get from this class, will determine the length of this training. 

  2. Purpose of this training?

    To educate student in defending themselves or their family with a deadly encounter.  Main purpose of this training is to instill confidence and train for the unknown and survive!

Back to top

Training locations

  1. Where is the shooting range located?

    Our shooting range  is located between Bennett and Watkins.  It is just 45 minutes from Downtown Denver.  When students sign up for a range class directions will be sent out to the student via e-mail 

Back to top

Cost

  1. Group rates

    If there are 4 or more students per class, I will give a group rate.  Please contact me for further information. 

Back to top

Tests

  1. Do I have to take a written test or practical test?

    Yes, depending on the course you have chosen, a written/practical exam will take place at the end of the course.  The reason behind this is for documentation purposes that the student has passed all required examinations to obtain a certificate of completion. 

Back to top

Range qualification for Security Officers

  1. How will this help my company?

    Having your armed officers, qualify with their firearms every 6 months or every 3 months, will reduce your insurance costs.  It will also instill confidence in your officers to carry out there duties.  Clients like knowing that the officers provided to them are highly trained in firearms.  Having professional firearms training, will increase your chances in getting more client contracts.

  2. What will be provided to my company after each qualification?

    After each officer qualifies with their firearm, I will provide your company with their qualification scores sent to you via email to keep for your documentation purposes.  I will keep a copy of all your officers qualification scores as well.  You will also get a copy of the shooting qual plan, that the officers shot. 

  3. What happens if one of my officers dont pass the qualification?

    If one of your officers dont pass the qualification course, I will provide remedial training for that officer. 

Back to top

Security Officer basic pistol course

  1. What will the officers learn in this course?

    The security officers, will learn several things in this course.  This course is designed to get the newly hired officer comfortable in carrying a firearm for duty.  The officer will learn the following:

     

    · Firearm safety

    · Firearm tactics

    · How to maintain your firearm in working condition

    · Firearm marksmanship

    · Deadly force definitions & when it can be applied

     

  2. How long is this training?

    This training will be from 4-6 hours

  3. Will the officer get a certificate of completion from this course?

    Yes.  At the end of the course, the officer will take a written exam and have a practical exam at the range.  After passing both portions of the testing, the officer/or company will obtain a certificate of completion from the basic pistol course. 

Back to top

Firearms

  1. What if I dont own a firearm, can I still take a course?

    Yes, if you dont own a firearm, we can make some arrangements for you to borrow one of mine for the training class. 

  2. What caliber can I use for firearms training?

    The student can use any caliber he/she desires.  However, as a beginner shooter I recommend using a 9mm caliber.  With time and training your marksmanship, will improve and going up on caliber eventually will work out better with time. 

Back to top

LivingSocial, WeeklyPlus, & ALL Online Vouchers Conditions

  1. When do I have to redeem the voucher(s) by?

    ALL vouchers bought by LivingSocial or WeeklyPlus, must be redeemed before the expiration date.  All these deals have a 4 month valid time and must ALL be redeemed while they are valid.  IF a voucher is expired and the student still wants to redeem a class, the student can sign up for any other classes available, but the difference of the FULL cost of the class will have to be paid.  To avoid paying the difference for the class, sign up for classes ASAP to get into a class and redeem the vouchers prior to expiration dates. 

  2. My voucher will be expired and the classes before the voucher is expired are full, what are my options?

    AS long as you sign up for a class, prior to the voucher expiration date, we will honor ALL vouchers if they are expired for the next available class.  IF you have more questions, please contact us. 

  3. What does the definition of "Redeemed" means for the vouchers?

    A redeemed voucher is a voucher that is turned in upon showing up to a class for PG FIREARMS TRAINING.  Making a phone call and scheduling a class is not considered "redeemed"

    ** IF a student signs up for a class and does not cancel with a 48 hour notice like required the vouchers are considered redeemed.  IF the student does not show up to a class they registered for the voucher will be considered redeemed.  For further questions or clarification, feel free to contact us.

Back to top

Recent Videos

9857 views - 0 comments
3601 views - 1 comment
5519 views - 0 comments
4630 views - 1 comment

Testimonials

  • "The course with Paul was excellent! I highly reccomend PG Firearms for anyone interested in CCW. The class was an eye opener for me, and Paul left no question un-answered."
    The BEST!
  • "10/02/2011 Instructor is very informative. I sent a question to him via email and he responsded immediately. My daughter and I took the firearms training course and we both r..."
    Rhonda

Upcoming Events

Saturday, Nov 22 All Day
Saturday, Dec 6 All Day
Saturday, Dec 13 at 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Saturday, Dec 20 at 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM